Feeling Kind of Curious: Gilmore Girls (Review)

I don’t really want to acknowledge the absence of updates, but I guess I will. Sorry, been busy.

There are two reasons for this blog post:

  1. I want to continue to encourage myself to write. It may not be good, no one will probably read it, and it may not make a whole lot of sense. But it’s something I enjoy doing when I get the time…and I eventually want to get better at being funny in my writing.
  2. I’m hoping this review of Gilmore Girls will help me understand how I truly feel about the show.

I’ve really only watched a handful of episodes. It’s my girlfriend’s favorite show to have on in the background. So by no effort of my own, I’ve been able to gather pieces of storylines and a hodgepodge of characters like the guy from Heroes, backward-hat restaurateur, Melissa McCarthy, and James Gunn’s brother. From those episodes of Gilmore Girls (or what I will now call Girlmores since my fingers tend to want to type that), I gathered that there is a woman and her daughter who are very sarcastic and talk fast surrounded by other characters that suffer from the same ailment of being very sarcastic and talking very quickly. The parents are also sarcastic with a quick tongue but are also very rich, so you know they earned it (and like most parents seem to hate each other).

cf878715c576b9d9f0cc3dba5ec23d51f3160ab58c09558d6fb6746dd5e14b1f
They actually all hate each other.

I assume the show takes place in New Haven, Connecticut since the daughter goes to Yale and her commute doesn’t seem to be all that bad. And like any other show, stuff just kind of happens. Like in one episode, there was an election for a local office where someone runs against the incumbent who owns a candy store I think. The guy wins but realizes the huge mistake he’s made by getting into politics in general. I’ve actually seen that episode twice now. Then in another episode, the little Girlmore was dating some rich jerk, but the guy from Heroes came back into town in and the drama ensued. I just remember the rich jerk guy being mean at some show or performance or something. Needless to say, he got his (I suppose. I don’t think I’ve watched the episode after that one).

Now, it would be difficult for me to review Girlmores in its entirety since I’ve only seen a couple of episodes (none of them being in season one I don’t think). So in an effort for fairness, I’ll just jot down a couple of thoughts I had during the episodes I actually watched.

Are the Girlmores attractive?

download
Girlmore mom looking lovingly at  Girlmore daughter

Let me preface by saying this: whether or not a cast is attractive is not a factor in why I watch something. But remember, I’m not really watching the show in the first place for storyline or substance, so my viewing of an episode is fairly shallow. Anyway, I find myself struggle with that question with each episode I have seen. Yeah, I guess they are.

Why is the lead singer for Skid Row in this show?

1420476310tumblr_ltv55hponr1r5r6yio1_500
My girlfriend told me that the Asian actress is actually 60 years old playing a 19 year-old.

That settles it. The Girlmores are rock and roll. That’s why Sebastian Bach is on the show. 

Well, I guess that’s really it. From the 5 or 6 episodes I watched out of the 7 seasons, I didn’t have much to go off of. And I really don’t remember anything else from the episodes I watched. Maybe I’ll do a follow-up of this review once I actually watch the show. But at this point, I refuse to watch the show in sequential order so I guess not.

Be sure to check out Season 8 of Gilmore Girls on Netflix November 25th. It will be a great way to spend your holidays…I guess.

Gilmore Girls: 10 out of 10…mainly because I don’t want to offend my girlfriend.

Leave a Reply

